TEMPO

projet tempo
© Andromède Océanologie

MONITORING OF POSIDONIA MEADOWS IN THE FRENCH MEDITERRANEAN

TEMPO is the network for monitoring the ecological status of Posidonia meadows in two characteristic sectors of this key Mediterranean ecosystem : the lower limit (deepest extension limit) and the intermediate depth (-15 meters ; representative depth of the meadow in the Mediterranean ; Gobert et al., 2009). This network is operated since 2011 by Andromède Océanologie with the support of the Rhone Mediterranean and Corsica Water Agency. It covers the entire French Mediterranean coastline bordered by the three regions : Corsica, SUD region, and Occitania. The objectives are to collect descriptive data on the state and functioning of Posidonia meadows and to monitor their evolution over time and space.

TEMPO currently includes 53 sites located at the lower limit of the meadows (between 5 and 40 m) and 47 sites located at the intermediate depth (around -15 m). Each year, a region is monitored in late spring (May-June) in order to cover the entire coastline every three years. Some TEMPO sites are also monitored for fish (PISCIS network), temperature (CALOR network) and acoustic listening (CALME network).

 

TEMPO includes 53 sites located at the lower limit of the meadows (between 5 and 40 meters deep) and 47 sites located at the intermediate depth (around -15 m).

 

 

Descriptive data on the health and dynamics of P. oceanica meadows are collected on two characteristic areas : at the lower limit (LI) and, since 2014, at the intermediate depth of -15 meters (PI). A descriptive leaflet (Material and methods) of this monitoring network is available on the website.

  • In LI, vitality measurements (density and unraveling of the clusters, type and depth of the boundary) are carried out, surveys of the pressures observed, as well as a mapping of the meadow. Two methods are used : acoustic telemetry (many lower limits of meadows have already been mapped using this method ; Descamp et al., 2009, 2011 ; Deter et al., 2010, 2012), and photogrammetry. These data can be used to calculate an EQR (Ecological Quality Ratio) and thus determine the ecological status of each lower limit site.
  • At the IP, three indicators are used to characterize the state of health of seagrass beds and thus assess the ecological quality of coastal water bodies : the PREI (Posidonia oceanica Rapid Easy Index ; Gobert et al., 2009), established according to WFD requirements and integrated into the TEMPO network in 2014 ; the BiPo (Biotic index based on P. oceanica ; Lopez y Royo et al., 2010) and the EBQI (Ecosystem-Based Quality Index ; Personnic et al., 2014), which were integrated in 2015. These sites are in line with existing TEMPO sites at the lower edge of the meadow.

Acoustic telemetry mapping. The diver uses a pointer equipped with a mini keyboard and a screen to precisely position the limits of the meadow. (Andromède océanologie ©)

According to the PREI protocol, two characteristic sectors of the meadow are monitored (five parameters are measured) : the lower limit (existing TEMPO site) and the intermediate depth. PREI requires sampling of seagrass clusters in situ, which are then analyzed in the laboratory. Very similar to PREI, the BiPo2 index allows the ecological status of each site to be determined by taking into account four parameters based on the health of the P. oceanica plant itself. The EBQI is based on a model of ecosystem functioning that takes into account its different compartments (= “boxes”) : posidonia, algae, herbivores, organic matter, small fauna, small and large predators, seabirds, and the interactions between these compartments. This index requires the in situ sampling of posidonia leaves that are then analyzed in the laboratory.

 By clicking on the button “Access the maps” just below, you will find more details on the indicators used at intermediate depth, links to the different scientific publications : PREI indicator (Gobert et al., 2009), BiPo indicator (Lopez Y Royo et al., 2010) and EBQI indicator (Personnic et al., 2014) and two scientific publications by Descamp et al. (2005 and 2010) concerning the acoustic telemetry method.

You will also find the different TEMPO sites located at the lower limit or at the intermediate depth (dark green and light green triangles) and a comparison tool.

Contact : Gwenaëlle Delaruelle (gwenaelle.delaruelle@andromede-ocean.com)

Project leader : Andromède Océanologie   –  andromede-ocean

Update frequency : Annual monitoring by region (each region, Occitanie/PACA West, PACA East and Corsica, is monitored every three years).

Partners : Rhone Mediterranean and Corsica Water Agency

Study reports

Associated scientific publications

   • Underwater acoustic positioning systems as tool for Posidonia oceanica beds survey (Descamp et al., 2005)

   • Ecological status assessment using P. oceanica (PREI) (Gobert et al., 2009)

   • Acoustic telemetry for monitoring P. oceanica (Descamp et al., 2010)

   • A biotic index using P. oceanica (BiPo) (Lopez Y Royo et al., 2010)

   • An Ecosystem-Based Approach to Assess the Status of a Mediterranean Ecosystem (EBQI) (Personnic et al., 2014)

   • Impact of 85 years of coastal development on seagrass beds (Holon et al., 2015)

   • Posidonia ecosystem services economical value (Campagne et al., 2015)

   • Monitoring Marine Habitats With Photogrammetry (Marre et al., 2019)

   • Impact des pressions anthropiques et de l’environnement sur les herbiers de Posidonia oceanica en Méditerranée française (Houngnandan, 2020)

   • Développement de la photogrammétrie et d’analyses d’images pour l’étude et le suivi d’habitats marins (Marre, 2020)

   • Fine-scale automatic mapping of living Posidonia oceanica seagrass beds with underwater photogrammetry (Marre et al., 2020)

   • The joint influence of environmental and anthropogenicfactors on the invasion of two alien caulerpaein northwestern Mediterranean

 • Préservation des posidonies: les ressorts d’une collaboration efficace (Julie Deter et al.,2022)

 • Earth observation for ecosystem accounting: spatially explicit national seagrass extent and carbon stock in Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique and Madagascar

 • Assessing Seagrass Restoration Actions through a Micro-Bathymetry Survey Approach (Italy, Mediterranean Sea), (Rende et al 2022).

logo-ANDROMEDE-partenaires
nouveau-logo-AERMC-partenaires

TEMPO

projet tempo
© Andromède Océanologie

SUIVI DES HERBIERS A POSIDONIE EN MEDITERRANEE FRANCAISE

TEMPO est le réseau de suivi de l’état écologique des herbiers de Posidonie sur deux secteurs caractéristiques de cet écosystème clé de Méditerranée : la limite inférieure (limite d’extension la plus profonde) et la profondeur intermédiaire (-15 mètres ; profondeur représentative de l’herbier en Méditerranée ; Gobert et al., 2009). Ce réseau est opéré depuis 2011 par Andromède Océanologie avec le soutien de l’Agence de l’eau Rhône Méditerranée et Corse. Il s’étend sur l’ensemble de la façade méditerranéenne française bordée par les trois régions : Corse, région SUD, et Occitanie. Les objectifs sont de recueillir des données descriptives de l’état et du fonctionnement des herbiers à Posidonie et de suivre leurs évolutions dans le temps et dans l’espace.

 

TEMPO comprend actuellement 53 sites localisés en limite inférieure d’herbiers entre 5 et 40 m) et 47 sites localisés à la profondeur intermédiaire (autour de -15 m). Chaque année, une région est suivie à la fin du printemps (mai-juin) afin de couvrir l’ensemble de la façade tous les trois ans. Certains sites TEMPO font également l’objet d’un suivi poissons (réseau PISCIS), d’un suivi de température (réseau CALOR) et d’écoute acoustique (réseau CALME).

 

TEMPO comprend 53 sites localisés en limite inférieure d’herbiers (entre 5 et 40 mètres de profondeur) et 47 sites situés à la profondeur intermédiaire (autour de -15 m).

 

 

Des données descriptives sur l’état de santé et la dynamique des herbiers à P. oceanica sont recueillies sur deux zones caractéristiques : en limite inférieure (LI) et, depuis 2014, à la profondeur intermédiaire de – 15 mètres (PI). Une plaquette descriptive (Matériel et méthodes) de ce réseau de surveillance est disponible sur le site web.

  • En LI, des mesures de vitalité (densité et déchaussement des faisceaux, type et profondeur de la limite) sont réalisées, des relevés des pressions observées, ainsi qu’une cartographie de l’herbier. Deux méthodes sont utilisées: la télémétrie acoustique (de nombreuses limites inférieures d’herbiers ont d’ores et déjà été cartographiées selon cette méthode ; Descamp et al., 2009, 2011; Deter et al., 2010, 2012), et la photogrammétrie. Ces données permettent de calculer un EQR (Ecological Quality Ratio) et ainsi de déterminer le statut écologique de chaque site en limite inférieure.
  • À la PI, trois indicateurs sont utilisés pour caractériser l’état de santé des herbiers et ainsi évaluer la qualité écologique des masses d’eau côtières : le PREI (Posidonia oceanica Rapid Easy Index; Gobert et al., 2009), établi selon les exigence de la DCE et intégré au réseau TEMPO en 2014 ; le BiPo (Biotic index based on P. oceanica ; Lopez y Royo et al., 2010) et l’EBQI (Ecosystem-Based Quality Index; Personnic et al., 2014), intégrés en 2015. Ces sites se situent dans l’alignement des sites TEMPO existants en limite inférieure de l’herbier.

 

Cartographie par télémétrie acoustique. Le plongeur utilise un pointeur muni d’un mini clavier et d’un écran pour positionner précisément les limites de l’herbier. (Andromède océanologie ©)

 

Selon le protocole PREI, deux secteurs caractéristiques de l’herbier sont suivis (cinq paramètres y sont mesurés) : la limite inférieure (site TEMPO existant) et la profondeur intermédiaire. Le PREI nécessite des prélèvements de faisceaux de posidonie in situ qui sont ensuite analysées au laboratoire. Très similaire au PREI, l’indice BiPo2 permet de déterminer le statut écologique de chaque site en prenant en compte quatre paramètres basés sur la santé de la plante P. oceanica elle-même. L’indice EBQI quant à lui, se base sur un modèle de fonctionnement de l’écosystème qui prend en compte ses différents compartiments (= « box ») : posidonie, algues, herbivores, matière organique, petite faune, petits et grands prédateurs, oiseaux marins, et les interactions entre ces compartiments Cet indice nécessite le prélèvement in situ de feuilles de posidonie qui sont ensuite analysées au laboratoire.

 

 

 En cliquant sur le bouton “Accéder aux cartes” juste en-dessous, vous trouverez plus de détails sur les indicateurs utilisés à la profondeur intermédiaire, les liens des différentes publications scientifiques :  Indicateur PREI (Gobert et al., 2009), Indicateur BiPo (Lopez Y Royo et al., 2010) et Indicateur EBQI (Personnic et al., 2014) et deux publications scientifiques de Descamp et al. (2005 et 2010) concernant la méthode de télémétrie acoustique.

Vous y trouverez également les différents sites TEMPO localisés en limite inférieure ou à la profondeur intermédiaire (triangles vert foncé et vert clair) ainsi q’un outil de comparaison.

Contact : Gwenaëlle Delaruelle  (gwenaelle.delaruelle@andromede-ocean.com)

Porteur du projet : Andromède Océanologie   –  https://www.andromede-ocean.com

Fréquence d’actualisation : Un suivi annuel par région (chaque région, Occitanie/PACA Ouest, PACA Est et Corse, est suivie tous les trois ans).

Partenaire : Agence de l’eau Rhône Méditerranée et Corse

logo-ANDROMEDE-partenaires
nouveau-logo-AERMC-partenaires
error: Content is protected !!